Below is a summary of the full article. Click here for the full version or go back to LFC Live.net
(Credit: Imago, Getty)
Ciaran Morrison
Sun 3 August 2025 19:30, UK
Celtic got off to a winning start in the Scottish Premiership, but VAR made the wrong call on Callum McGregor’s disallowed goal according to a PGMOL Insider.
The Hoops relied on an 87th minute winner by substitute Luke McCowan to secure the win after St Mirren’s brave defensive display.
Celtic thought they had the breakthrough in the 67th minute through a McGregor strike, but VAR ruled the goal out for handball.
The visitors rarely threatened the Celtic goal, with hosts putting relentless pressure on visiting goalkeeper Shamal George and McCowan’s late winner was richly deserved.
Photo Credit: Getty Images
Celtic’s opening match of the Scottish Premiership was proving a frustrating affair until McGregor won the ball of St Mirren captain Mark O’Hara on the edge of the penalty area and fired home a strike past George.
The goal came from a driving run forward by substitute James Forrest from the half-way line to the St Mirren penalty area.
MORE FOOTBALL INSIDER STORIES
Forrest’s forward pass into Daizen Maeda was intercepted and O’Hara looked to bring the ball away on the counter-attack for the visitors.
McGregor though stepped in and stopped O’Hara, benefiting from the duel to have a clear shot on goal.
The ball bounced kindly for the 32-year-old before he struck what he thought to be his first goal of the season.
McGregor and his team mates jubilantly celebrated with the Celtic crowd before the VAR instructed referee Don Robertson to over turn the goal for handball.
In real time it looked like a legitimate goal and replays do not definitely conclude whether there is or is not a handball committed by McGregor.
Photo Credit: Imago
This article contains exclusive comment from former professional referee Keith Hackett.
Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, former referee Hackett claimed that he does not believe the goal should have been overturned by VAR.
“I have looked several times at the video and the players view that he signals that the ball hit is shoulder is valid.
“I can only assume that if this clip is what was the focus of the VAR review that an error has taken place and the goal should have been allowed.”
Hackett continued: “If it hit the elbow then that is part of the arm that is taken into account with regard to an offence.
Frankly I feel that there is no deliberate action of handling the ball and for me the goal should have stood.”
Fortunately for Celtic the decision did not stop them from taking all three points.
McCowan collected Maeda’s pass and hit a left-footed strike beyond the reach of George and that goal was not ruled out by VAR.
For more news relating to Celtic, visit our sister site Celtic Latest Live.